Compare · last updated on October 20, 2026

Havn vs FRONTSTEPS

FRONTSTEPS is five products under one name: Caliber for the books, Manager for the office, Community for the residents, Payments for the dues, and Dwelling for the gates, quoted on a demo and implemented over about 60 days. Havn is the office and the owner side in one price, with texts, calls, letters, votes, and resale documents included and live the same day.

Feature by Feature

A feature FRONTSTEPS's pages do not mention says so. Prices are as published and change; check frontsteps.com before deciding.

Published price

Havn

$1 a home

FRONTSTEPS

On request

Time to go live

Havn

Today

FRONTSTEPS

60 days average

Resale documents

Havn

Included

FRONTSTEPS

Not on its pages

For owners

On par on the app, statements, requests, and documents. Havn adds owner elections with weights and proxies, reservations with rules and deposits, published payment fees that are lower, and a sign-in for every co-owner.

Online payments and autopay
Published fees, 3.25% + 30¢ on cards and 1% by bank, shown before paying, with the association picking who pays. FRONTSTEPS takes cards, ACH, and wallets and does not publish the feesFRONTSTEPS Payments: credit and debit cards, ACH, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Cash App, one-time or scheduled, QuickPay without a login, QR codes on printed statements; fees not published
Voting
Owner elections weighted from the allocated interests on the record, proxies, paper ballots, sealed until close, included. FRONTSTEPS' pages describe board and committee votes on architectural requests onlyOwner elections and ballots not stated; board and committee votes on architectural requests only
Amenity reservations
Rules, fees, deposits, approve or decline, charged through the owner's ledger. FRONTSTEPS approves bookings and captures payment on paid amenities; rules and deposits are not statedReservations with manual approval and payment capture on paid amenities; rules and deposits not stated
Where they match (4)▾
Owner portalSame
On par on bulletins, requests, documents, bookings, and paying, with an app each. Havn adds a sign-in for every co-owner and a manager who can open an owner's portal as them, auditedFRONTSTEPS Community, a web portal and mobile app per community: bulletins, documents, work orders, architectural requests, amenity bookings, events, payments, a Resident Engagement program with email templates and adoption dashboards, and ALLi Enterprise answering residents around the clock
Receipts and statementsSame
On par on statements, coupons, and the ledger. Havn's receipt goes to everyone on the home the moment a payment landsStatement runs from Manager with a detachable coupon or a print-as-invoice version, emailed or downloaded as PDF; a homeowner ledger with a running balance on the unit record; QR codes on printed statements and coupon books
Requests and work ordersSame
On par on work orders and architectural requests with committee review. Havn keeps the thread on the owner's record beside their email, texts, and lettersWork orders and architectural requests from the portal, with digital forms, committee votes, automatic approvals, letters, and PDFs; Manager routes tasks and approvals; ALLi drafts replies
DocumentsSame
On par on folders and a board library. Havn also reads every file so it is searchable inside, and attaches it to resale ordersInternal, Accounting, and External document sections in folders, a folder-only view, a board document library of governing documents, minutes, and financial reports; search inside the text not stated

For the office

On par across the ledger, funds, bank reconciliation, bills, and violations: Caliber has run management-company books since 2000. Havn's office is one web app from the first day, with a violation ladder from each state's statute; Caliber is a Windows application the web Manager is replacing piece by piece.

Where they match (5)▾
General ledgerSame
On par on the ledger, budgets, collections, and reports. Caliber is a Windows application with the web Manager taking over piece by piece; Havn's office is one web app, built so a treasurer needs no CPACaliber: "automated payment posting, budgeting, collections, and fund-based accounting", AP and AR, special assessments, reporting; a Windows application with the web Manager taking over statements, AP, delinquencies, and the ledger; ALLi Budget Studio builds the annual budget from the GL
Operating and reserve fundsSame
On par: fund accounting on both. Havn names operating, reserve, and special assessment on every entry from the first"Fund-based accounting" on Caliber's page; operating and reserve funds not named
Bank sync and reconciliationSame
On par on reconciliation to the bank. Caliber connects to named partner banks; Havn reads any bank's feed, and nothing posts on its ownBanking integrations with named partner banks: automatic statement retrieval, automated reconciliation, and live balances inside Caliber
Bills and payablesSame
On par on approval tiers, payment runs, vendor pay, and 1099s. Havn also reads emailed bills into the vendor's recordInvoice viewer, approval tiers for AP, manager, and board, batch payment runs with bank balance projections, void and reissue, check images, and vendor records with insurance compliance, 1099s, ACH, and W-9s
Violations and noticesSame
On par on the workflow, letters, fines, and inspections from the phone. Havn's ladder starts from each state's statute, with cure periods and lien rulesOpen, Monitored, Closed workflow with letter templates, fines applied, waived, or locked, follow-up dates, inspections with photos from the phone, and a bulk print queue; the state's steps and cure periods not stated

Reaching owners

On par on bulletins and templates. Havn adds two-way texts, recorded calls, and letters mailed from the screen on one ladder, from one inbox on the person's record; FRONTSTEPS mails through print partners and does not mention texts or calls.

Texts
Two-way from a number the community owns, consent recorded, replies in the same inbox, included. FRONTSTEPS' pages do not mention texting ownersNot stated for owners; Dwelling can text a guest pass
Calls
Recorded reminder calls to owners who consented, one step on the same ladder as letters and texts. FRONTSTEPS' pages do not mention callsNot stated
Mailed letters
Any letter mailed from the screen, priced before sending, filed on the person's record, returned mail flagged. FRONTSTEPS queues letters for print partners and does not publish the priceViolation and architectural letters generated and queued in bulk; statements and mailings printed and mailed through print partners HOAMailers, Page Per Page, Bank-A-Count, and OSG; prices not published
Where they match (1)▾
EmailSame
On par on bulletins with open rates and templates. Havn's land in one inbox with texts and letters, on the person's record, with saved repliesScheduled bulletins with open rates, Resident Engagement email templates with engagement tracking, push notifications, and in-app notifications

Closings

Havn drafts resale certificates, estoppels, and lender questionnaires in your office from the record, with the state's cap and deadline checked and the requester paying you. FRONTSTEPS' pages do not mention resale documents.

Resale documents
Resale certificates, estoppels, and lender questionnaires drafted in your office from the record, with the state's cap and deadline checked, the requester paying you. FRONTSTEPS' pages do not mention resale documentsNot stated on any page read; no resale partner on the integrations page

Buying

Havn publishes $1 per home with everything included and a 30-day trial with no contract, live the same day. FRONTSTEPS prices on a demo and implements over an average of 60 days.

Published price
$1 per home with a $59 minimum, $0.70 past 1,000 doors with no minimum, published. FRONTSTEPS prices on a demoNot published; a demo; "revenue-sharing agreements" with companies
Free trial
30 days on a real community, no card, no contract, live the same day. FRONTSTEPS offers a demo and an average 60-day implementationNo trial stated; implementation "in an average of just 60 days"
  • The site says it has it
  • Part of it, or coming soon
  • Not offered
  • The pages say nothing

Why Havn over FRONTSTEPS

9 ahead · 10 on par

  1. 1A published price and a 30-day trial on one community, live the same day. FRONTSTEPS prices on a demo and says its implementation takes an average of 60 days.
  2. 2Resale certificates, estoppels, and lender questionnaires drafted in your office from the record, with the state's cap and deadline checked and the requester paying you, included. No page of FRONTSTEPS mentions resale documents.
  3. 3Two-way texts, recorded calls, and mailed letters from one inbox on the person's record, priced before sending. FRONTSTEPS mails through print partners, and its pages do not mention texting or calling owners.

Every FRONTSTEPS statement is from its own pages, last updated on October 20, 2026: frontsteps.com/our-software, frontsteps.com/back-office-management-accounting, frontsteps.com/community-association-management, frontsteps.com/payments-automations, frontsteps.com/frontsteps-manager, frontsteps.com/release-notes

Havn vs FRONTSTEPS, in Plain Terms

How much does FRONTSTEPS cost compared with Havn?

FRONTSTEPS: not published; "Request a demo" on every product page; the integrations page describes revenue-sharing agreements with management companies and a connection fee for API partners; Pro Services sells one-hour private trainings. Havn: $1 per unit per month with a $59 minimum and $0.60 past 200 units, the same for boards and management companies; $0.70 per unit with no minimum once a company's portfolio passes 1,000 doors; 10% off yearly; no setup fee. Havn's trial is 30 days with no contract; FRONTSTEPS's trial, as its site puts it: no trial stated; "while competitors may take 8 to 9 months to go live, FRONTSTEPS gets you up and running in an average of just 60 days".

Is Havn a FRONTSTEPS alternative?

For a community that wants the owner side and the office side on one record, yes. Who FRONTSTEPS says it is for: "Community Management Companies", "Community Management Professionals", and "Homeowners & Association Board Members"; "a single self-managed community or an entire HOA portfolio". Havn serves self-managed boards, management companies, and condominiums, with an owner portal every owner signs into, fund accounting, texts, calls, and letters from one inbox, and resale documents drafted from the same record.

When is FRONTSTEPS the better answer?

A management company that wants Caliber's accounting with direct bank reconciliation, gated-community access control in the same suite, and an implementation team, priced on a demo. Scale it claims: "Trusted by thousands of communities"; a lineage back to 1998 (AtHomeNet, Caliber, Capsure, DwellingLive, Evercondo). Every statement here comes from frontsteps.com, last updated on October 20, 2026.

How do we switch from FRONTSTEPS to Havn?

Start a 30-day trial on one community, bring the roster as a spreadsheet, and run both side by side. There is no contract and nothing to move until you decide. Owners sign in with the email the association has on file, with no invite codes, and co-owners each get their own login.

More comparisons

All thirteen platforms on one page: the best HOA management software, compared.

Try Havn on one community before you leave FRONTSTEPS.

HOA management software with a homeowner portal owners actually use. Resale documents are included; the requester pays for each one.